Monday, April 15, 2024
HomeSportsMohammed Shami to receive prestigious Arjuna Award

Mohammed Shami to receive prestigious Arjuna Award

Renowned fast bowler and India’s standout performer in the ODI World Cup, Mohammed Shami, is set to be honored with the prestigious Arjuna Award for 2023, marking a remarkable year for the nation’s cricket. The Sports Ministry unveiled the list of awardees on Wednesday (Dec 20), with Shami standing out as the highest wicket-taker in the ODI World Cup, securing 24 crucial wickets. This accolade adds another significant achievement to Shami’s illustrious career, solidifying his position among the nation’s cricketing elite.

Joining Shami on the list of awardees are badminton duo Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty, who will be receiving the Khel Ratna award for their exceptional contributions to the sport in 2023. Shami will be among 25 other athletes recognized with the esteemed Arjuna Award.

Despite initially playing a supporting role to Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj in the World Cup’s early matches, Shami seized the opportunity when called upon. Stepping in after Hardik Pandya’s injury, he made a significant impact, becoming the tournament’s leading wicket-taker despite playing in only seven matches.

Noteworthy recipients of the Arjuna Award for 2023 also include Sushila Chanu (hockey), Pawan Kumar (Kabaddi), Ayhika Mukherjee (table tennis), Sunil Kumar (wrestling), Antim (wrestling), Naorem Roshibina Devi (wushu), and Sheetal Devi.

Complete list of Arjuna Award recipients for 2023:

  • Ojas Pravin Deotale (archery)
  • Aditi Gopichand Swami (archery)
  • Murali Sreeshankar (athletics)
  • Parul Chaudhary (athletics)
  • Mohameed Hussamuddin (boxing)
  • R Vaishali (chess)
  • Mohammed Shami (cricket)
  • Anush Agarwalla (equestrian)
  • Divyakriti Singh (equestrian dressage)
  • Diksha Dagar (golf)
  • Krishan Bahadur Pathak (hockey)
  • Sushila Chanu (hockey)
  • Pawan Kumar (kabaddi)
  • Ritu Negi (kabaddi)
  • Nasreen (kho-kho)
  • Pinki (lawn bowls)
  • Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar (shooting)
  • Esha Singh (shooting)
  • Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (squash)
  • Ayhika Mukherjee (table tennis)
  • Sunil Kumar (wrestling)
  • Antim (wrestling)
  • Naorem Roshibina Devi (wushu)
  • Sheetal Devi (para archery)
  • Illuri Ajay Kumar Reddy (blind cricket)
  • Prachi Yadav (para canoeing)

Additionally, outstanding coaches were recognized with the Dronacharya Award in both the regular and lifetime categories, and the Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime achievement was bestowed upon Manjusha Kanwar (badminton), Vineet Kumar Sharma (hockey), and Kavitha Selvaraj (kabaddi).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version